Time For Some Whine.

I’m sad today. I don’t handle rejection very well I guess. I entered two writing contests recently and neither panned out. One came complete with 2 critiques which is a good thing, but I am too sad to read them yet. I promise, I will, when I’m over it. For now I’d like to drown my sorrows. Boo hoo me.

I suppose I should look at the bright side of things instead of being sad. I have completed the first rough draft of my second novel. I’m currently adding a few more scenes, and then finishing up the second draft. The last step before I ask for a peer group reading will be one more pass through. This is the one I put off until the last minute. It’s when I get focused and breath life into my main character.

This summer also holds the Pacific NorthWest Writers Associations annual conference. I’ll be rubbing elbows with some agents and editors, hopefully successfully pitching this same book. Also, I’ll get to see some friends I don’t see often enough there. That’s truly something to look forward to.

Following those two, research for my next book begins in earnest. And before I know it, November will be here and I’ll be Nanowrimo-ing all over again, with book #3(.5) making an expedient appearance.

So here’s my new focus: Isn’t it a gift to be able to write what I want, when I want in the first place? Shouldn’t I just be happy to do what I love, even if I don’t get money, accolades or vacations for my efforts? I guess so, but, oh my. All of those would have been really nice. One day, they will stop saying “no” to me, right? I just need to keep telling them “yes”.

3 thoughts on “Time For Some Whine.

  1. It’s totally okay to be upset, but know that you are an awesome writer! I get those rejections all the time 😉 It’s a badge of honor! You rock!

    • It’s a little funny but I wrote this 5 years ago and it still holds true, only I’m not whining anymore lol. Since I wrote this I’m so much more comfortable with my abilities as a writer. I feel more like its their loss if they can’t see the glory in what I have to offer. Partially thanks to you ;-).

Leave a Reply

