Summer of Book Love

I don’t know how the summer went by so quickly. I’m sad and relieved all at the same time. I’m sad because it’s not going to be warm for very much longer, and because the yard grows slower when it’s dry-ish outside, which will change soon. Notice I didn’t say lawn.

I’m relieved because I *love* LOVE LoVe fall. The weather, the light quality, the over-all feel of change. It’s just amazing to be in the PNW this time of year. I have the deepest feeling of awe when I drive by the water on my way to where-ever and the leaves on the trees are exploding with color. And Halloween! Yup, wonderful things to look forward to.

Anyhow, I’ve been gone for a little while, so let me catch you up on what’s been spinning here in the hood.

The PNWA’s summer conference came and went. I was a token introvert for a “Self Promotion for Introverts” workshop; during which I gave my first speech in front of adult humans successfully. My mirror, cat and ten year old have seen many a good speech, but the remainder of the human race has been deprived, until now.

I learned TONS from this conference, talked and listened to too many amazing people to detail here, (Okay okay a hand full of amazing teachers and speakers: Bob Mayer, Robert Dugoni, Chuck Sambuchino, Jane Porter) but if you are curious you can always go to the PNWA.org website and click on conference to see who spoke and what workshops they offered. Great conference this year, even in the midst of the e-publishing dilemma. I gained so much inspiration I can’t thank those good people enough.

I have been getting my latest novel ready to send off to some agents and an editor who want to give it a read. It’s done, in the hot little hands of most of my critique group, and now I am suddenly plunged into the “what am I going to do with my spare time?” conundrum.

On the list: Read a three foot high pile of books. Most are for research but one of them, Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, is for pure and simple pleasure. Also I now have time to do research for the new novel, which is doomed to come into this world this November whether it’s ready or not. Yup, it’s almost National Novel Writers Month again. Though I only come out with a 50K work outline for a novel, which then takes another 11 months to turn into something readable, it seems to work for me. Looking forward to it!

There’s my summer of book love in a nutshell!

Leave a Reply

