Updates From the Frontlines of NaNoWriMo

The other day I was going through some old notes for the last book I wrote. I found this great blurb on what the last story I wrote was about. I penned it one year ago, almost exactly.

This outline, or pitch really, sounded phenomenal. I want to read that story, I thought. Then I put down the card and started to laugh. Because the story that came about during National Novel Writers Month (NaNoWriMo) 2010 was not that story. Not even close. The characters had even changed. Yet I still really like the story that came about. It’s genuine, heart felt. Still a good read.

That said, perhaps that’s why I’ve been leery to pre-write a thorough outline for this years nano, like last time. Or to fully flesh out my characters, or discuss what my next book is going to be about. I do feel a little foolish about the excitement with which I discussed that last one, prior to it’s conception.

Anyhow, here I am, a year later, not sure of what is going to transpire between the sheets of my 2011 NaNoWriMo challenge. It may, or may not, include many ideas I’ve been batting around, hours of research that have been both fun and challenging. We’ll see.

I am close to 17,000 words into it, and I feel like I have hit a lot of the high points that I wanted to hit on. I’m beginning to hit the subtle nuances that lead up to the climax… Oh yeah! This is so tantalizing, this writing stuff! Don’t get me wrong, I was doing all of the normal “This isn’t working,” and “Why did I think I could do this?” shmugga shmugga’s. So I kept reminding myself that it was normal, and now, I’m having a lot of fun. I’ve passed the first difficult part. This writing process, it’s such a high.

Anyhow, I’m here, once again, happy to be where I am. So grateful that five years ago I was new to this, simply because a friend (you know who you are) challenged me to try NaNoWriMo for the first time. And finally, all of those years of taking classes on how to write payed off. Thank you!

And, sorry, I’m going to end this with a “Yay me!” Still, even with raising a rambunctious thirteen year old and a cocky ten year old, still with planning the eventual sale of my house and you know, stuff. Still! I can write at least one thousand, six hundred and sixty seven words a day.

Oh man that feels good!

3 thoughts on “Updates From the Frontlines of NaNoWriMo

  1. You can write that many words, yes. But it’s SO much more than that! You write people and things and it’s all so much like peeking in on someone’s life. Keep on keepin’ on! Love you!

Leave a Reply

