R-E-J-E-C-T Me, Find Out What it Means to Me

Try a little Reject…

Okay I’ll stop singing, sorry to insult your ears :-).

I have an odd question for you all: Why is it that actually hearing a definite “no” brings me so much happiness? Is it because I’m weird? Or is it something else?

Well, I have an update for you all. My clipboard has a gentle padding now. I’ve gotten two quickly typed no-thank-you’s, a handful of stock rejection letters, and one explanation of why we’re not a good match (the agent and I). All of them, the first one aside, made me happy.

But the last one, from a certain lovely agent, made me want to hug the next person who walked in the room. Seriously, I had to physically restrain myself from responding to her immediately with an I-Love-You response. I need to add here that she wasn’t raving about how great it was, it’s the fact that she took the time to say something.

I don’t feel right quoting her letter here, but it was a heart felt, well thought out rejection. Her note made me feel new again. After I pondered her words, and shared them with a few friends, I was so inspired that I sat down and wrote a new synopsis for the current work in progress (which now sings because it’s so happy), as well as decided a course of action for the last one I’ve been pitching (the one she wrote me about). This, from a rejection letter. Who would have thunk?

I want to point out that for years, I haven’t let my self attempt to succeed because I was afraid of the next step. This very step. Boy was I wrong. This doesn’t feel bad at all! I can’t say I love failing, because that would be too much. But I do love the learning that goes along side it. I love the pep talks from my friends and my muse. Also, for some reason, getting rejections makes me feel like I’m accomplishing something. Without failure, there is no success, right?

So am I weird for feeling cheered from the rejection letter? Eh, probably. But still, I can’t help but hear this part of Aretha Franklins RESPECT, (slightly altered to fit my needs of course 😉 ) floating through my head:

Oh (Sock it to me, sock it to me,sock it to me, sock it to me)
A little reject (Sock it to me, sock it to me,sock it to me, sock it to me)
Whoa, babe (Just a little bit)
A little reject (Just a little bit)
I get tired (Just a little bit)
Keep on tryin’ (Just a little bit)

9 thoughts on “R-E-J-E-C-T Me, Find Out What it Means to Me

  1. Loved what you had to say. I, too, am sending out queries and receiving rejections (often within a day, sadly), and am looking forward to the kind of rejection letter you received–the kind that is actually helpful and not just a brush off.

    Good luck with your writing and the next letter you get, which is an “I love it! Send me more.”

    KA

  2. April connected me to your blog for this very post. Awesome! I guess this is what it means to “live the dream” and gives me a preview of what I have yet to experience (and, fortunately, look forward to, too).

    I just purchased a book several days ago by Jessica Page Morrell entitled “Thanks, But This Isn’t For Us.” It’s right in the same spirit. That feedback letter you got was an absolute gift! If I got something like that, it would feel like the editor/agent was also saying, “You’ve got potential. Here is how your art and my slice of the market that I represent can align.”

    Every fish caught starts with a nibble…

Leave a Reply

