Nano 2013 Update

I have been quiet here in the blogosphere, as I’m sure most of my NaNoWriMo blogger friends have. Twitter has been my playground for the past few weeks. Or should I say, Twitter is my drug of choice? Yeah, you get the picture.

I couldn’t resist sharing an update.

I’ve passed mid-month. My story likes me. This is good news. It’s telling me everything it can think of.

I have a write-a-thon planned for next weekend. It’s a virtual one, at this point. A Bellinghamster I know is going to simultaneously write like a mad person from there while we message each other back and forth spewing expletives and encouragement. It’s Saturday November 23rd from 10 am to 2 pm pacific time if anyone wants to join us (virtually or physically.) I will be leaving my house for this event, to avoid distractions at home. Destination TBA. Ideas? Share!

For your entertainment, a sampling of thoughts straight from my brain so-far this month:

“Stop putting your freaking foot in your mouth.”

Because Nano is a zombie and it eats my words so I say stupid shit (and write stupid shit) on a regular basis. Yeah, I know, like that *only* happens in November. Right.

“I’m lonely!”

I feel like I haven’t been seeing enough of my friends lately. Sad face.

“Put it down. Just, okay, well, maybe one more. No – stop! Brownies are not a breakfast food!”

But they’ve got eggs. And grains. That’s nourishing, right? Wait – not THAT kind of brownie!

“Stop forgetting to put the laundry in the dryer!”

That smell kills me. ‘Nuff said.

“Ah f^@# it I quit.”

Only, I’m not a quitter. You could even say I fail at being a quitter. The above should have said “I’m a failure.” Only I also fail at failure. Plllbbbttt.

Now for the meat of nano: how reality compares to the story I had in my head about NaNo 2013.

Let’s be honest. I did not expect much from this thirty-day word sprint. Earlier I shared the amount of prep work I’ve done in advance. I had this idea that it would be a chain of short stories set in the same town. Only – that didn’t work out. It’s a novel outline with one story that has characters and stories that are intertwined.

Oh boy. Fun stuff.

The good part about this process is that it feels so very, really, good. Kinda like finally getting to go to an exotic beach after a long cold winter. That moment when you take off your boots and wool socks, then stretch your furry toes in the hot sand. At this point, any sand, cold or hot would have worked. But aaaah.

That was my long-winded way of saying that not creating is a bit, well, depressing and this feels good. So there.

What I can’t figure out is how my brain comes up with some of this shit. A mind dump is a truly weird experience. Also? Much of my real life crawls into the story. Sometimes it’s obvious. “She picked up her coffee cup and stared off into the distance, and thought, “What the hell am I doing?”” Other times it’s so hidden, so wrapped up in bacon and not too spicy jalapeños, no one would recognize it.

Okay – I’m going back into the caves :-). See you in December. Unless I get a bee in my bonnet. Then I’ll be back :-).

***Edited the brownie portion of this commentary. I’d written it that way intentionally but my inner editor was whipping me last night about it. So – had to fix it.

Leave a Reply

