A Little Bit Paranormal

Hello from the couch of misfortune. It feels like I’m at sea right now. The boat (couch) won’t stop rocking and my head is all wonky. Too much fun last night mixed with the tail ends of a cold.

I feel like talking about paranormal today. Yesterday the husband and I had a discussion about some study he had read that “debunked” people’s outer-body experiences. Loosely explained, their brain activity was the same while they were experiencing outer-body phenomenon as those that were influenced by drugs and hallucinations. Because of this they declared outer-body events non-paranormal.

When I think about this logically I’m brought to the actual definition of paranormal: very strange and not able to be explained by what scientists know about nature and the world.

Up until I read this I hadn’t connected my personal definition of this word with telekinetics and psychics. I viewed paranormal a little different: Unexplained phenomenon, usually pertaining to death. I know this is a personal standpoint, but it felt more authentic than any I’d read. I guess you could say I had an aha moment.

Anyways!

So we had a discussion about how a scientific study could void out such a thing, when by definition paranormal is scientifically unexplained. Herm. What I’m wondering though, is about the definition of the word paranormal as seen above. It seems it is widely accepted, but, what if they perceive the definition more like I did? So lets just say you have the ability to test an outer-body episode and you believe that you need to die to have one. Then when your test subject doesn’t die, but still has the brain activity showing that something did happen. Are you wrong? Are they wrong? Just thinking out loud here.

The husband came up with an alternative plan. Since everything is made out of energy, how far is it a stretch that people having outer-body experiences are extending their energy out of their body and “seeing” beyond. It’s more complicated than that, but there’s the gist of it.

I buy it.

Which brings to mind why I started typing today. Many years ago I got entranced with ghosts. It’s all over this blog so I won’t go into it. However, it started with a haunting that whet my appetite. Then I thought, “Hey, I can use this for my writing.” I even tried to contact the very people I’m volunteering with now, without luck. And then, last summer happened. I witnessed death for the first time. It was cold and empty and startling. I decided that no, I don’t want to write about ghosts in a fictional manner. I want to research them for real.

Which brings me here, to this part of my life. Volunteering with AGHOST, using scientific experiments and devices to explain things that appear to be paranormal events. Attempting to debunk the data we find. And for me at least, looking for life beyond.

It has occurred to me that we are all broken, those of us doing this research. We are all looking for something different, yet the same. Don’t get me wrong, these people are some of the nicest you’ll ever meet. I enjoy their company. But this thread that’s pulling us together? It’s variegated and made of many different intentions and desires. All except one. To do this in the most scientific way possible, to create a base of knowledge for those that come after us.

And you know, it’s kind of cool too :-).

The storm that’s raging in my head is still going strong. I’m surprised I could write anything at all. Hoping tomorrow brings blue skies and calm seas.

Leave a Reply

