Detergent

Of all the the things I’ve learned while we are traveling: history, managing bus and train travel, what to bring with you when going on vacation, I think how to hand-wash clothes is my favorite.  No,  seriously.

There hasn’t been a washing machine in over a week. Even when there has been one there hasn’t been a drier. So I hand wash when I need to, The Husband wrings them out and we hang them up together. Team work.

At the end of a washing session my forearms are tight, my arms satisfyingly tired. The feeling is vaguely familiar. So vague, in fact, that it’s taken me weeks to make the connection: this is how I feel after a good workout. Yes, it’s been that long – a month and a half maybe.

Apparently I’m missing working out, not enjoying the handwashing. If I didn’t just buy laundry detergent I’d be all over dropping and doing 20. Erm. Or 10. Or at least a modified military press or 2. Wait, what’s a military press again?

Actually,  we broke down and visited a lavanderia today. The humidity is too high for our clothes to dry properly. This might be a trend.  I’ve heard stories of roadside washers and driers along the motor way. We just might need to visit one of these.

Here’s to clean clothes. And working out :-).

2 thoughts on “Detergent

Leave a Reply

