STORM FRONT Discussion Part 1

Hello end of June! Whew that was fast. This month was dragging for ever and then it went at warp speed. Incredible.

I’m maybe half of the way through Jim Butcher’s STORM FRONT, and then of course I lost it. Gah. I would have it done before today but no. Not going to happen. The good news is that I’ve learned life isn’t too busy to plow through an extra book in a months time. So after this one, is everyone game to go for one a month? Meanwhile the deadline is still July 31st, so keep reading if you are plodding your way through. It really is an easy read.

If you, like me, are behind, and you don’t want to think about the book yet, do not read further. There aren’t any spoilers, as I haven’t read enough to give them, but you’ve been warned.

If you are like my buddy June, who probably is reading book four in the series by now, here are some book club questions for you to chew on until the end of July. I wanted to borrow these from other online book clubs, but they were mostly remedial questions or bookish, as in, writerly questions. I like my discussions to be a bit meatier. Here’s a start to get you by until I’ve formulated some more questions.

Book discussion part one.

Is Harry Dresden immature for his age – or is he just so old that he doesn’t care anymore? There were some actions where I was thinking he was acting like a twelve year old: he withholds information that is pertinent to the investigation. He’s petulant as hell when talking to authority. Then he does magic when he knows he’ll get in trouble. Like, real consequential trouble.

Then there’s the magic system itself. Does it make sense? Is it believable? I’m still holding my vote on this one. I do realize this is the first book in the series and he probably works out some of the kinks as he goes, but it seems that there is no way to do magic, not even potion creation, without eyes on him and resulting consequences, yet he does it anyway. Much like Harry Potter. By the way, which came first? I’m going to ponder that for a second. Okay so they both came out about the same time, so its just one of those things. Makes you think.

I’m having a super difficult time imagining his pad. Am I the only one? I’ve seen the TV show (You haven’t seen it? You need to!) and that helps me a little bit, but its still foggy for me.

I’m sorry this is so short, but I’ll work on more for later in the month.

Happy reading!

3 thoughts on “STORM FRONT Discussion Part 1

  1. I’m not quite half way through but I do enjoy this book. There isn’t enough time in the day to read for long periods but it is a good, easy read that keeps me going backback for more.

    He doesn’t “act his age” whatever that is. But who does? I know that I don’t… From what I gather he just doesn’t care.
    And the magic, well isn’t magic supposed to be unbelievably magical?
    I have never seen the show. (What was it? The Dresden Files? I’m not sure where to find it.)
    Doesn’t he go downstairs to the entry where the windows are half below the sidewalk? Then there is another basement below the living space. I’ve never lived in a big city but maybe I can imagine it because I have never seen the show.
    I think that I should get back to reading, he is in quite a tight spot without his knife and cane. I need to find out how he gets out of this situation.

    • Now I’m almost done – I see where the confusion was on the living space. His office is not in his house, which is what I was imagining. That helps a lot. What I meant by act his age is that he’s very whiny, which I now know a 20 something wrote this so yeah, whiny, and that he doesn’t “go there” when talking about women like most men would. Again, a 20 something writing it, I can see it. Getting clearer.

  2. Pingback: Book Club of the 1st Time! | Jennifer Douwes' Blog

Leave a Reply

